My healthy lifestyle journey

I’ve really never liked the word ‘Diet’ for some reason. Every time I told myself I was going on a diet I found myself abandoning it within a few days of being on it. Therefore, I had to ask myself what am I looking for? I was looking for something long-term something that didn’t involve not eating because if you know me then you know how much I love my food.

The best thing to do is to figure out what works for you because what works for someone else doesn’t mean it will work for you. Some people don’t have to do much to lose weight but some of us do. I have a friend (Twinny) who I’m always complaining to about how hard it is for me to lose weight and she is the complete opposite of me. We always give each other ideas on doing things some work others don’t.

Living a healthy lifestyle can be challenging and I am living proof of that. So many times I’ve found myself going back to old habits. I realised why it was not working and it was because I was only doing it so I would lose weight and I wanted quick results. Temporary results were not what I wanted I wanted something long-term, beneficial, healthy. This is because at times I would so diets that made me starve myself and then when it came to eating a meal I would literally stuff myself which was not good.

Well finally I knew that calling whatever journey I was starting a diet wasn’t going to work for me. I had to find a different name for my journey a name that wasn’t too intimidating I guess. Well to be honest with you I still don’t have a proper name for it however, I’ve called it “A journey to a better me”, “My healthy lifestyle journey”, “My Transformation”etc but all I know is its to benefit me. The journey is still going and I will be giving you an update on thing I will be doing. It’s all about being mentally prepared for the journey and know why you are doing it.

For break fast I like to have a smoothie it might not seem like much but for me it was. The main reason is that i never have appetite in the morning and by the time i would normally have my breakfast it would be lunch. I made my smoothies different each time but the more i had them in the morning the more i saw my appetite growing in the mornings still not where it should be but its improving.

Smoothie Ingredients

1/4 of a cucumber (peeled)

Handful of baby spinach

Frozen mixed berries

250ml of coconut milk

100ml water

Lunch is always simple and easy not heavy but light. Normally grapes, almonds because they require picking and i can take my time with them. I would also have a bottle of water because almonds tend to make me very thirsty.

img_1051

For dinner I try to make it simple light but still delicious with a lot of greens and protein and carbohydrates as well, a little bit of everything to be honest. I’m not one to stop eating certain foods because they have fats or they have too many carbs, we need those fats and carbs in our body. I don’t deprive my body from anything i just make sure i have reasonable amounts.

Salad recipe                                                           Chicken recipe

1/2 a cucumber                                Marinate in lemon for 30min in the fridge

1/2 cup of couscous               Add pepper, salt, chilli spice & reggae reggae sauce

1 full avocado                      Leave in the fridge for 45mins then oven until desired.

3 egg whites (from boiled eggs)

Olives

Cress, spinach, watercrest, mesclun, red leaf and kale

All the foods I make are not always limited to salads and fruits, i make sure that i include all my favourite foods so that it can be interesting all the time. The best thing to do is enjoy being in the kitchen and experimenting with food so you never get bored with eating the same things.

Thank you for visiting my page, stay tuned for more.

Love ShamSham

#justpureappreciation

Leave a Reply

